Office of Strategic Initiatives

About Us & Services

The Office of Strategic Initiatives (OSI) is a division under the City Manager’s Office. OSI houses the Management Analysts Division (Change Management and Project Management), Grants Division and Community Development Division. 

OSI assists the City Manager’s Office and Department Directors with strategic planning, change management, project management and grant management tools and techniques. OSI is also responsible for managing federally funded programs including Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME), and Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) through the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). 

Office(s) location

Grants and Community Development || (956) 548-6167
1150 E Adams St., 3rd Floor, Brownsville, TX 78520

Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm
Temporarily closed due to COVID-19

Management Analysts || (956) 548-6167 
1034 E Levee St., Brownsville, TX 78520

Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm
Temporarily closed due to COVID-19

Directory

Efren Trujillo || Assistant Director of Office of Strategic Initiatives
Office Phone: 956-548-6118
Work Cellphone: 956-551-3927
Email: efren.trujillo@cob.us 

Javier Chavez || Administrative Specialist II
Office Phone: 956-548-6151
Email: javier@cob.us  

Ruth A, Hernandez || Administrative Supervisor Off
ice Phone: 956-548-6167
Email: angiehernandez@cob.us  

Erika Mata || Accountant II
Office Phone: 548-6136
Email: erika.mata@cob.us  

Grants Division

Athena Bournakis || Grant Manager
Office Phone: 956-574-6734
Work Cellphone: 956-466-8401
Email: athena.bournakis@cob.us  

Nalleli Trejo || Grant Analyst 
Office Phone: 956-574-6735
Work Cellphone: 956-466-7199
Email: nalleli.trejo@cob.us  

Olga Moya || Grant Writer
Office Phone: 956-574-6733
Work Cellphone: 956-551-6055
Email: olga.moya@cob.us  

Management Analyst Division 

William Yun, MPPM || Senior Management Analyst
Office Phone: 956-547-6521
Work Cellphone: 956-551-7548
Email: william.yun@cob.us   

Robert Baez, MBA || Senior Management Analyst 
Office Phone: 956-547-6501
Work Cellphone: 956-410-4212
Email: roberto.baez@cob.us  

Community Development Division

Armando Rangel || Housing Manager
Office Phone: 956-548-6167
Work Cellphone: 956-525-2048
Email: armando.rangel@cob.us 

Mary Ann Perez, BSW || Social Services Coordinator
Office Phone: 956-548-6160
Work Cellphone: 956-466-8387
Email: marryann.perez@cob.us  

Minerva Gracia || Housing Specialist
Office Phone: 956-548-6164
Work Cellphone: 956-551-0665
Email: minerva.gracia@cob.us  

Miguel Gutierrez || Compliance Specialist
Office Phone: 956-548-6155
Work Cellphone: 956-254-9078
Email: miguel.gutierrez@cob.us