Transit Advisory Committee

The Transit Advisory Committee was created by in 1991 as amended by the By-Laws accepted on January 10, 2003. The committee shall monitor the performance of Brownsville Urban System quality statistical reports, reviews requested and proposed service, policy and procedure changes to assure that user and institutional needs have been addressed.


  • Meets the third Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.
  • Meeting Location:
     La Plaza at Brownsville Multimodal Terminal
     755 International Blvd., 2nd Floor (Community Room)
     Brownsville, TX 78520
  • For more information, please call at 956-541-4881.


  • Desired membership is no more than seven members this would also be more consistent with the number of members in the city commission.

  • The Transit Advisory Committee is appointed by The Brownsville City Commission.

  • The committee members shall consist of the following:
    • Citizens with Disabilities
    • Senior Citizens
    • Consumers
    • Public Agencies
    • General Community
  •  Current Members
     Sylvia Berry
     Viola Currier
     Julian O. Lopez
     Jacob Gutierrez
     Teresa Saldivar
  • Membership of each member is appointed for a term of two calendar years. If a member leaves the committee before his/her two-year term has expired, the replacement appointed in his/her place will serve the remainder of the original member’s term plus a two-year term of his/her own. Members can be appointed at the convenience of the City Commission.

Transit Advisory Committee Meetings