Planning & Zoning Commission


The Planning and Zoning Commission was created by Ordinance #93-1100.16, under Chapter 212 and Chapter 395 of the Texas Local Government Code. The commission acts as the capital improvements advisory committee under Chapter 395 of the Texas Local Government Code and adopts rules for the efficient transaction of all its business.


Meetings are held the first Thursday of each month at 5:30pm in the City Commission chambers on the 2nd floor of the Brownsville City Hall located at 1001 E. Elizabeth Street. The Zoning calendar shows all deadlines and meetings. For more information please view the FAQs or call the Planning and Zoning division at (956) 956-548-6150


The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of 7 regular members and 1 special member, for a total of 8 members each serving 3-year terms.
  • Ronald D. Mills, Chairman
  • Myles R. Garza, Vice-Chairman
  • Derek Benavides, Secretary
  • Troy Whittemore
  • Michael Reyes
  • Francisco Orozco
  • Abraham Galonsky

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes